Athenian Dramatists -- 5th c. BCE -- Tragedians

The Athenian dramatists of the 5th c. BCE are a major source of Greek mythology.

Their plays can be found in English translations at the Perseus Project.

Aeschylus (525-456)

Wrote some 90 plays; 7 have survived:

Sophocles (496-406 BC)

Wrote some 120 plays, won 18 victories. Seven of his tragedies survive. He first won the prize over Aeschylus in 468.

Euripides (480-406 BC)

Wrote 80 or 90 plays; won the prize five times, first in 441. After 408 he went to Macedonia from Athens. Eighteen of his tragedies survive, if we include the doubtful Rhesus; the Hypsipyle is a fragment.